So, Nano

Wow. It’s been a long time since I’ve posted. Like eight months long. There should be a law or something.

But it’s not like I haven’t been writing. As a matter of fact, I just finished up NanoWriMo. (Yeah, I know it was done two days ago but I took yesterday reeeeal slow and rested up) But the cool thing is, NanoWriMo didn’t finish me.

This is my second year winning Nano. I’m pretty happy about that. A couple of my writing group buddies, Jon and Amanda, challenged each other to 100k this year and somehow I was challenged to do it too. My reaction to that was ‘Why me?’ but about halfway through I hit my stride. No wait, it was more like Turbo Boost.

My goal has always been to write 2k a day. Not a small number, not a large number, but one that I thought was not only doable but wouldn’t tire me out and would let me be creative. But there were a couple of days this month were I turned out a larger number than I thought I would ever be able to do.

But there’s a trick to it. You see, I noticed that when I went to Write-Ins I would churn out more words, 2500 to 3500, but I was writing for almost the same amount of time. The difference is breaks.

I get creative fatigue. I push to write and keep writing until my fingers go numb and my brain goes blah and I’m tired, and I’m frustrated, and I can’t think of what happens next. So, the next time I go to write, I don’t wanna. I’m freeze up thinking that I won’t be able to create, I won’t be able get the words out. I’m a failure, I suck, etc, etc. But this didn’t happen at the Write-Ins. It’s all about the breaks.

So, one day after a Write-In (this was just past the Nano mid-point) and making just over 3000 words. I drove home thinking, ‘Why can’t I do this all the time? What’s the difference?’

Sure, there is some kind of crazy energy being in a room with so many other creative minds creating but as much as I’d like to I can’t bring all those folks home. That’s a lot of meals I’d have to fix and then there are those pesky kidnapping laws.

Anyway, we do word sprints. Our Super Duper ML, Julie, sets us up a time limit where we have to write as much as we can as fast as we can. Afterward, we get a treat. Well, sometimes. You have to win for most words or be close to the magic number. But more importantly, for me at least, was the break.

I made some words and now I get a breather. Then we do it all again.

That was it!!

The Turbo Boost!!

So, after a 3000 word day, I went home and done it again. Set up a timer for twenty minutes and wrote my little heart out. Took a break. Then wrote for twenty minutes more. It may sound weird but those tiny breaks gave me a recharge and I wasn’t getting that brain freezing frustration.

5000 words a day!!

Me! Yeah, me.

And the next day, I did it again. Over ten thousand words in two days. A fifth of the Nano goal. What? Crazy!!

So, I got to thinking that maybe that One-Hundred Thousand Word Challenge my not be as impossible as I thought. I wouldn’t finish it first, but I’d finish it.

Instead, I got something else.

A head cold.

That pretty much ended that idea for me.

So, I battled another Wicked Wordsmith for top spot on the Magic Speadsheet. I got the most words but we tied for points.

But, all in all, I won NanoWriMo in 20 days and finished the month out with 70,137 words.

This Nano I learned more about the way that I need to be writing and how to get more writing done. I think I have about thirty to forty thousand words until I’m done with this novel and with the Turbo Boost, I have hope that I’ll be getting that done a lot sooner that I would have before. I’m aiming for about mid-December.

Wish me luck on keeping the head colds a bay!!Winner-2014-Web-Banner

2 thoughts on “So, Nano

Leave a Reply

